Light of Reiki touches a friend

I found this in an archived website of mine, and since I’m revitalizing the Reiki pages on this site, I thought I’d share a story from a few years ago.

She is an acquaintance of mine, a lady in her 40s, with a strong sense of self which ensures that religion is kept firmly in place as ritual more than belief. Very aware of her position in her community, she sees herself as someone whom people try to take advantage of for help; but who is too canny to let them succeed unless they have pleased her in some way.

However, she is also very open to the persistent, gentle reminders of her family members, who continuously try to lift up her responses to something more noble. Her humility in this regard, taking suggestions about her behavior not only from her husband, but also her young children, reveals the higher self shining through the chinks of her everyday demeanor! I think she’s open to me because she has sometimes called on me for help.

In an informal chat one day, she mentioned  that she was very apprehensive about a tumor that needed to be operated upon the next day. It was an outpatient procedure, not dangerous but she was extremely nervous about it. On an impulse- as I had never before mentioned Reiki to her; let alone inform her that I was a Reiki healer, I asked her if she’d like me to send her Reiki and she said she did, though she didn’t know what it was- nor did she want to know about it. Asking her the time of her appointment, I told her I’d be sending Reiki from the time she would leave the house to go to the clinic.

After the Reiki Master meditation, I sent distant healing to the lady, and stayed in healing meditation for the planned duration of the procedure.

The next day she called and told me in an annoyed voice, “I don’t know what you did with your Reiki-veiki; but the doctor was called to an emergency and couldn’t even see me. Now I’ve to see him after a month.”

Instead of consternation, I felt immense joy and lightheartedness. Smiling, but not wanting her to feel I was taking her lightly, I made some appropriate noises to soothe her. I KNEW that this “setback” was because she didn’t need the procedure; but also that I would have to continue to send healing throughout the next month. This time, I didn’t tell her what I would do.

At various times during the next month, the healing energy would go through me towards her, and each time I would feel lighthearted and joyful.

A month later, she called me again, “I went for the procedure, but they couldn’t find the tumor! It’s disappeared. I don’t know what you did, but it has gone.”

For me, the miracle was not in the healing of the tumor; but in the awakening of awareness that came with the entire episode.

Ego bowed spontaneously to acknowledge the workings of higher powers.

 

Reiki Healing and Attunements

Leave a Reply

